The Correct Diagnosis

I had an appointment with the autism therapist yesterday where she confirmed that I am indeed on the spectrum.  I took a diagnostic test that I thought was called RADS (maybe it wasn’t, I don’t know) and in order to be considered autistic you need a 65 or higher.  I scored 110.  The therapist and I then went through the DSM IV and DSM V diagnosis tools.  In order to be diagnosed with autistic disorder with DSM IV, I needed a certain number of items in each category and I met the minimum requirements for each one.  So I don’t actually have Asperger’s.  I have autistic disorder or simply autism.

I wanted some help from the therapist about an upcoming job interview (that happened this morning), so she helped me brainstorm some ideas of what I should say and what I shouldn’t say.  I asked her if I should mention that I have autism because the job I applied for is with a non-profit that works with people with disabilities.   She said it was up to me and I decided I wouldn’t divulge it, at least not initially.

About the interview though, I thought it went pretty well, but I was still hesitant to get hopeful because I’ve been let down so many times in the past.  The interviewer said that she was going to call the top 2 or 3 candidates for second interviews and within an hour of leaving the building I got a call asking to come in on Monday for another interview!  I’m still trying to not get my hopes up because again, I don’t want to be let down again.  I want to be hopeful so badly though.  It’s just who I am.

Leave a Reply

