The Thing Is…

Here’s one thing about me that most people know because you will find my computer basically attached to my hands, I am addicted to the Internet.  I remember growing up without the Internet and when I was I don’t know maybe 11 years old, my parents got AOL.  I spent a lot of time on the computer, I found friends from the Internet.  The Internet became everything to me.  Lately, I have been following Raffi on Twitter (yes the singer) and he is a proponent for children to not be addicted to technology.  I am started to see his point of view and I realize that it is a scary world we live in with the Internet.  When I have children, I established long ago that they will NOT have a cell phone until they are 16 years old.  There is absolutely no need for an 8 year old to have a cell phone.  When they get this cell phone, they will be on a pay-as-you-go plan to teach them responsibility and they will be the ones buying these or earning them.  To the point, when I have kids, I don’t want them to be like me.  I want them to step away from technology, think without it, use their brains, their creativity.  I am a creative person and I used to be even more creative.  I would create art from magazine clippings, I’d write long stories about my future in notebooks (I still write, but do this on a computer now).  I feel like my creativity has been dampened because of my use of technology.  I feel like I rely too heavily on it.  I do not have a smart phone.  I don’t know if I want one either.  I don’t need another reason to be disconnected from reality.  I need to step away from the computer, step away from Facebook and Twitter, step away from the Internet and reexamine my priorities in life.  My creativity is my life.   I want to be a writer when I grow up, but I am killing my dream by spending so much time online.  I want to see my future children better off than me and the only way is less technology.

Leave a Reply

