Retention of Facts

I’ve come to realize that when it comes to having autism, I do things that most people don’t or can’t do.  One thing I have discovered I am really good at is retention of mundane celebrity facts.  I don’t realize how vast my “knowledge” of celebrity facts and trivia until I will randomly pull something out of no where that even I am surprised I remembered I knew.  When I was working at the grocery store a couple months back, I was talking with a coworker about a customer who I said was ridiculously good looking.  Here’s the basic exchange.

Coworker:  Oh, if you like him, you’d probably think Shemar Moore is cute.

Me: Isn’t he in that show Criminal Minds?

Coworker: Is Criminal Minds another one of your shows?

Me: No, I’ve never seen it before.

Coworker: How do you even know this if you’ve never seen it?

It’s stuff like that where I read it once on Wikipedia or somewhere else and if it involves celebrities, I’ll be able to remember it for a long time.  The same goes for quotes from my shows.  I only have to watch the show once through and I can remember a lot of significant quotes from it.  Of course, I’ll bring them up in a conversation and have to explain myself for why I said something that was not even related to the conversation.  They tend to pop in my head at random times and I’ll want to say them right then.  I really wish I had this type of fact retention for things that were actually important, like school.

Leave a Reply

