New Job

I’ve had two potential jobs in the midst.  One was an at-home editor for a market research firm.  I wanted that job because I knew my anxiety wouldn’t be bad because I’d be working from home.  While I was waiting for the next steps on that job though, I got a call from a temp agency saying they had a position for me working in a warehouse for a grocery delivery service.  I decided to check it out and did a job shadow for an hour the other day.  Afterwards I had to decide if I wanted the job, which I did.  My first day was yesterday night into this morning.  I work from 10PM to 4AM Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays.  I am actually quite happy with this job because I work in a cooler that is around 50 degrees.  I absolutely hate heat and think anything higher than 65 degrees is too hot.  I also don’t have to work with any customers which is probably the best thing.  I would get very anxious before work in the past because I couldn’t handle the thought of dealing with people for 8 hours.  I don’t feel this way with the warehouse job.

I made it through my first shift, but because I have been pretty much sedentary for a long time, I was in so much pain from standing for 6 hours.  My back hurt so bad and I had to sit down a few times in the last hour because I was shaking from the pain.  I hope to build up stamina soon enough though, it’ll just take a bit.

When I got home from work, I was so cold.  I only wore a long sleeved blouse and jeans to work and didn’t bring a sweater.  I learned the hard way that I probably shouldn’t have done that.  I could not get warm no matter what I did.  I only have one blanket and it is enough most days, but this morning I was shivering so much I had to search for something else.  I ended up finding a Snuggie in the family room that belonged to one of my parents.  It was exactly what I needed and I felt so much better.  Now that I don’t need it right now, it is sitting in my bed and since Willie absolutely loves fleece, she has been sleeping on it for awhile.

Leave a Reply

