Living without Fear

I am a fearful person and I wish I wasn’t.  I want to do so much with my life, but my fears keep me back.  The ironic thing is that I fear doing things but one of my greatest fears is not doing what is important to me.

My birthday is tomorrow (June 4th) and I will be turning 29.  As a teenager when I imagined how my life would be now, I thought I would be in a completely different place.  I am not exactly happy with where I am, but I am going to change that.  My plan is to spend the next year until I turn 30, doing things that scare the crap out of me.  I want to go outside my comfort zone and be the person who isn’t afraid to live.  I want to be whom I’ve always meant to be.  I’ve started a list of things that I want to accomplish this year that I find scary.  Some of them are as simple as saying “hi” to a stranger and some are as difficult as standing up for myself or admitting my wrongs.  I want to do this and I am going to.  Here is a complete list of things I am going to do:

Scary Things I Can Do

  • Go to a restaurant alone
  • Go into an interview not afraid of failing
  • Talk to someone I don’t know
  • Sightsee alone
  • Admitting  wrongs
  • Go somewhere I haven’t been
  • Compliment someone I don’t know
  • Compliment someone I do know
  • Go technology-free for one day
  • Go technology-free for two days
  • Swim in a lake
  • Pay for someone’s meal
  • Meet one of my online friends
  • Run
  • Say hi to a stranger
  • Apologize
  • Ride public transportation
  • Advocate for myself
  • Advocate for Willie
  • Admit my faults
  • Not believing the opinion I have of myself
  • Interview someone for an article (in person or over phone)
  • Volunteer
  • Stand up for myself
  • Tell someone my weight
  • Go on a date
  • Ask someone out
  • Say no when I really mean it
  • Buy food without caring what others think
  • Teach someone something
  • Babysit
  • Hang out with a kid(s)
  • Do yoga
  • Go to an exercise class
  • Take an art class
  • Try out for a band
  • Run/walk a 5K
  • Go to a club/bar alone
  • Say I love you to someone who isn’t Willie
  • Get my writing critiqued by writers
  • Go Geocaching
Leave a Reply

